Reviews

The Sly Collection Review – One Of The Best Remastered Collections

  • 9/10/10
    Graphics - 9/10/10
  • 8/10/10
    Story - 8/10/10
  • 8/10/10
    Playability - 8/10/10
  • 9/10/10
    Replayability - 9/10/10
  • N/A/10
    Originality - N/A/10
8.5/10

I’d like to first admit that I have never played a Sly Cooper game. I know it’s sad, but there was this little purple dragon that took of the majority of my platforming life. Needless to say, when I caught wind that Sony was going to create an HD collection of all three Sly games, I had to get my hands on it. I have officially beaten all three games during the course of the week, and I had so much fun playing them that Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood actually took a backseat at times.

This review isn’t going to be on the games themselves. If you haven’t already read or seen a review of a game made almost ten years ago, then you probably don’t care about this game, to begin with. Instead, I’m going to review how well the HD remake truly is. This can be described in one word – incredible. The textures are so bright, so vivid, and the movement of Sly and his cast of characters are as smooth as ever. The cut scenes have also been remastered and look incredible. This graphical enhancement isn’t only noticeable in Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus, but translates to both Sly 2: Band of Thieves and Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves, and it’s a lot of fun to see just how much better the franchise truly came to look. What surprised me the most was how each game in the series was completely different from the previous. Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus is as pure a platformer as you can get. Sly 2: Band of Thieves is an open-world take on the platformer and leaves you with much more freedom. Sly 3: Honor among Thieves combines the best of both worlds.

While an HD remake of this franchise wasn’t needed, and it’s certainly not as high profile as the God of War Collection was, it’s still an amazing collection that should absolutely be on your shelf. Each story will take you around 8-10 hours to complete, and all three games are very different from each other. To add to this plethora of content, they have included Trophy support, with each game boasting its own Platinum Trophy. If you are a Trophy whore like myself or are only a few away from catching the leader on your Friends list, The Sly Collection will definitely satisfy your goal.

The only real complaint I have is in the “Sony Move Compatibility” department. The game boasts Move support, but it’s weak, to say the least, and shouldn’t have been installed in the first place. You don’t get to use the Move during actual gameplay but are instead confined to a set of four mini-games you can select from the Main Menu. Three of them are shooting games, with the fourth being a guide the helicopter game. If these mini-games were any fun, I might have a different opinion, but regardless it feels like a sales gimmick. There’s no real reason for it to be in there. Luckily it doesn’t take away from the core of the collection – the Sly games themselves.

You need to go out and buy this. If you are a fan of old school platformers or are looking for a change from the usual first-person shooter, The Sly Collection will keep you busy for a long time. At roughly 30 hours to complete all three games, Trophy support, a price tag of only $39.99, and a trailer for Sly 4, The Sly Collection is yet another successful HD remake from Sony.

Leave a Comment