Reviews

Super Mario Galaxy 2 Review – The Best Game Of All Time

  • 10/10/10
    Graphics - 10/10/10
  • 10/10/10
    Story - 10/10/10
  • 9/10/10
    Playability - 9/10/10
  • 10/10/10
    Replayability - 10/10/10
  • N/A/10
    Originality - N/A/10
10/10

I don’t know how Nintendo does it. I also don’t know why they don’t do it more often. They have managed to create another Mario game that is absolutely amazing. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is hands-down my favorite Mario game next to Mario 64. It’s a bright, beautiful, fun experience that I can’t seem to stop playing. Collecting all 120 stars never lent itself to a dull moment, and after I beat it, I unlocked more game. Along with that, if you play each level as Luigi (yes, that’s right, Luigi) you unlock Speed Runs. There is so much to do in Super Mario Galaxy 2 that you just may never put this game down.

Super Mario Galaxy 2 brings back a lot of the older elements from previous Mario games. From the music to the characters, to the level elements, the nostalgia is bound to put a smile on your face. What Nintendo managed to do perfectly was incorporate these older elements while still making a new game. Mario can put on a Cloud Suit, a Rock Suit, you can play as Luigi, and wait for it… you can ride YOSHI. This has to be my favorite aspect of Super Mario Galaxy 2. Much like Super Mario World for the SNES, Yoshi will change depending on what he has eaten. Eat a hot pepper, and he will run fast. Consumption of air will inflate him allowing you to rise to different levels. The most interesting power-up for Yoshi was the “Light Yoshi”. Having Yoshi eat a glowing orb turns Yoshi’s eyesight into a flashlight, illuminating your way. Incorporating all these new elements into a very familiar landscape was an incredibly smart move on Nintendo’s part, and one that made me fall in love.

Much like Mario 64, there are 120 stars to unlock. Like Mario Galaxy, you must unlock these stars across a ton of different planets. Along your way, you will encounter the usual enemies such as Bowser, Bowser Jr., Bob-Ombs, Wigglers, Goombas, and many more. The boss battles are a ton of fun as well. One of the first boss battles requires you to use Mario’s “Drill Power” (sorry forget to mention that earlier) and drill through the planet to pop up on the underbelly of the monster. I loved how it would take me a minute or two to truly understand what it was that needed to be done to beat a said boss. Each technique must be used if you want to win. Awesome!!!

I originally heard that Super Mario Galaxy 2 was supposed to be much harder than the original. While I would say that the difficulty has certainly improved, the game is by no means out of anyone’s “league”. Like most games, you will have to spend some time getting used to the controls, especially when introduced to new powers. What was really nice was how following the reception of a new ability, there was a ton of time to learn how to truly use it. If you still find that you are having trouble, there are in game “monitors” that you can watch that literally show you how to get past a certain part. While these aren’t everywhere, they are there for the more difficult areas.

Overall Super Mario Galaxy 2 is incredible. I honestly had no doubt in my mind. This is what Nintendo does. They are the reigning champions of recreating old classics into new classics. It’s what has kept them on the top. Every time a Mario game is released, parents and children rush out to the store and buy it without hesitation. They just know that it’s going to be great, and Super Mario Galaxy 2 is no exception. The only complaint I have is that they haven’t remade Donkey Kong 64. Go out and buy this game. If you don’t have a Wii, go buy one so you can play this. It honestly is that good.

Graphics: Beautiful. The best on the Nintendo Wii so far. Vivid colors, detailed levels, and strong character models create an almost breathtaking arena.

Story: It’s the classic Bowser steals the Princess. What makes this so much different is exactly what Bowser has done to do it (I can’t give away the story! Come on!). There are so many classic characters thrown into the mix that the story is just so freaking good. Man, I love Mario.

Playability: I didn’t find it too hard at all. I actually felt that the new powers were very easy to learn. There are times when running around planets can make you a little dizzy, but that’s to be expected. The only complaint I have is that the camera couldn’t seem to keep up at times.

Replayability: There are 120 Stars to collect. Add-on the fact that you unlock more game after all of these are collected, and you can play through for Speed with Luigi, and Super Mario Galaxy 2 will last you hours upon hours upon hours. You will easily get your money’s worth out of this one.

Originality: Not super original. After all, it’s a Mario game. But the way they incorporated the old school feels with a new game makes this unlike any other game out there. I won’t give this a score since it’s not a fitting category.

Leave a Comment